Friday, February 5, 2010

Quadrennial Homeland Security Review

As mandated by Congress, the White House has delivered the nation's first Quadrennial Homeland Security Review (QHSR), defining homeland security for the first time as including hazards beyond terrorism, in a strategic document intended to drive long-term budget decisions. READ MORE

The QHSR lists five missions, backed by 14 specific goals: preventing terrorism and enhancing security, particularly against chemical, biological, nuclear and radiological threats; securing U.S. borders; enforcing the nation's immigration laws; securing cyberspace; and ensuring resilience to disasters.

Mission 5 is defined as "Ensuring Resilience to Disasters". The strategic aims and objectives for ensuring resilience to disasters are grounded in the four traditional elements of emergency management: hazard mitigation, enhanced preparedness, effective emergency response, and rapid recovery. Together, these elements will help create a Nation that understands the hazards and risks we face, is prepared for disasters, and can withstand and rapidly and effectively recover from the disruptions they cause.

Download report (.pdf)...



Post a Comment

Comments are moderated

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home